If You Like #2 - Middle Grade Fantasy Books With Male Protagonists

Saturday, 30 August 2014
I know that the title is fairly specific, but that's okay because at least you'll know exactly what type of book you're reading. Even though I'm a HUGE young adult fan, I still enjoy the occasional middle grade. Here are some that I think you'll enjoy too!

1.  The Percy Jackson Books by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. And that's the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he's angered a few of them. Zeus' master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus' stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.


Why You'll Love It:
These books blend mythology and adventure perfectly. The fast pace, action-packed plot lines are a joy to read. If you've never read middle grade before, or if you're trying to get a nine to twelve year-old kid into reading, these books are an excellent place to start.

2. The Call by Michael Grant

Twelve-year-old Mack MacAvoy suffers from a serious case of mediumness. Medium looks. Medium grades. Medium parents who barely notice him. With a list of phobias that could make anyone crazy, Mack never would have guessed that he is destined for a more-than-medium life.

And then, one day, something incredibly strange happens to Mack. A three-thousand-year-old man named Grimluk appears in the boys' bathroom to deliver some startling news: Mack is one of the Magnificent Twelve, called the Magnifica in ancient times, whatever that means. An evil force is on its way, and it's up to Mack to track down eleven other twelve-year-olds in order to stop it. He must travel across the world to battle the wicked Pale Queen's dangerous daughter, Ereskigal--also known as Risky. But Risky sounds a little scary, and Mack doesn't want to be a hero. Will he answer the call?

A laugh-out-loud story filled with excitement and magic, "The Magnificent Twelve: The Call" is the first book in bestselling author Michael Grant's hilarious new fantasy adventure series.


Why You'll Love It:
This novel has more of the traditional fantastical beings and like Percy, have powers. But the protagonist in this book has so many phobias and it's nice to see a character in these types of books be somewhat more flawed. Also, the dual POV gives this story an interesting twist.

3. The Balance Keepers by Lindsay Cummings

The first book in an epic middle grade fantasy adventure series that takes place in an underground society at the center of the earth. Packed with action, humor, magic, and mystery.

After following a mysterious map into the woods and then under the woods, eleven-year-old Albert Flynn learns he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for fixing problems in three underground Realms at the Core of the earth. His new job is important; if the realms fall out of balance, the world above could be in great danger.

Albert and his Balance Keeper teammates Birdie and Leroy arrive in the Core not a moment too soon. There’s an Imbalance in the Calderon Realm and it’s threatening to bury Albert’s hometown of New York City in a mountain of ash.

The three must train hard completing mental and physical challenges, but above all, they must harness the power of their Tiles—unique superpowers given to each Balance Keeper. So far, Albert’s mastered the art of not mastering his Tile....

With the situation in Calderon growing worse every day, can Albert, Leroy, and Birdie restore balance before New York is destroyed forever? Will Albert master his Tile before it’s too late?

Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, The Unwanteds, and the classic Journey to the Center of the Earth.


Why You'll Love It:
Even though I have yet to read it (the book comes out September 23rd), I already have a good feeling about it. The synopsis sounds like Journey to the Center of the Earth, but with more action.

This was originally going to be a purely middle grade one, but then it became all about fantasy books, and these three all have male protagonists. Anyway, I'll probably do another on of these soon. Let me know in the comments what genre you'd like me to do one on. I'll see you all tomorrow with another post!

- Hearts And Crowns

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for joining the conversation! We love knowing your opinions and thoughts on the matter!