Review of All the Bright Places

Monday, 5 January 2015
Hello Fellow Book Lovers,

Today I have for you all a review of All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven! (Also, just remember to have some tissues nearby when reading this book.)

Book: All the Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Publisher: Random House
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Dual POVs, Suicide, Death, Thought-Provoking 

ISBN: 0385755880

Cover:











Rating: 5/5 Stars

Summary: The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this compelling, exhilarating, and beautiful story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.
 


Review: When I first read the synopsis for this novel, I knew that I was going to absolutely love this book and I did. Perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars and Eleanor and Park, this book is a tear-jerker that will leave you in thought long after you finish the last page.

The relationship between the protagonists, Theodore Finch and Violet Markey was very real and raw in the sense that it blossomed over time and they didn't just instantly fall for each other and decided they were soul mates. It was the adventures that they went on to visit places in their town for their geography class and all the time that they spent together that drove the relationship forward as it should have been.

Since the novel is told from both Finch's and Violet's POVs and is told in first-person, you really get to see how their experiences shaped who they were and their thoughts and emotions. However, I, personally, found Finch to be slightly more interesting to read than Violet if only because he was a sarcastic and slightly darker character than her. This is not to say that she wasn't also a dark character considering that she did think about the tragedy of her sister's death and experienced grief in the novel.

I also wanted to quickly mention how great Jennifer Niven's writing is. It's very poetic and lovely to read.

Masterfully crafted, this beautiful, touching story that stays with you long after you've finished the book makes All the Bright Places a must-read!


Be sure to follow me on Bloglovin, Twitter, and Instagram (links in the sidebar to your right) so you never miss another post!

See you all soon!

- Hearts And Crowns

***Disclaimer: A copy of this book was provided to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way influenced my thoughts.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for joining the conversation! We love knowing your opinions and thoughts on the matter!