Holiday Gift Ideas 2015

Monday, 30 November 2015
It's almost December and even though it's (thankfully) not snowing yet (I wish it wouldn't snow at all because everything turns to ice and I am prone to slipping on ice), I thought I would offer up my best holiday gift ideas of 2015.

So let's get on to the books!

Book: The Winner's Curse by Marie Rutkoski

Genre: Fantasy, Political Intrigue, Historical, Young Adult

Comparable Titles: Game of Thrones, Throne of Glass, Graceling

For: Anyone really. If you're worried you'll get them something they won't like, go with The Winner's Curse. With an enormous amount of praise and the last book in the trilogy coming out March 2016, now's the perfect time to get the book nerd(s) in your life this exquisite book. (This is also my one repeat from last year because it really does make for a great gift.)

Synopsis: Winning what you want may cost you everything you love...
As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.


Book: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Genre: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult

Comparable Titles: Sarah Dessen's books, John Green's books, Eleanor and Park

For: People who want something similar to John Green or Sarah Dessen's books but have already read all of them. Bonus: the movie adaptation is in the works!

Synopsis: The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.


Book: Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman\

Genre: Western, Young Adult, Historical

Comparable Titles: Walk on Earth a Stranger, True Grit

For: Vengeance Road is a grittier book that'll surely please Western fans (and even the non-western fans/people who have never read or watched a western). With it's gripping plot, great characters, and fantastic writing, this would make for an amazing gift for anyone on your list!

Synopsis: Revenge is worth its weight in gold.

When her father is murdered for a journal revealing the location of a hidden gold mine, eighteen-year-old Kate Thompson disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers—and justice. What she finds are untrustworthy strangers, endless dust and heat, and a surprising band of allies, among them a young Apache girl and a pair of stubborn brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, a startling truth becomes clear: some men will stop at nothing to get their hands on gold, and Kate’s quest for revenge may prove fatal.


Book: The Conspiracy of Us

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Young Adult

Comparable Titles: The Da Vinci Code, Ally Carter's books

For: Anyone. Seriously, anyone and everyone will love this book. It has a gripping plot, fast-paced action, and a freaking fantastic romance.

Synopsis: A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter.

Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with.


Book: One by Sarah Crossan

Genre: Sick Lit, Contemporary, Verse, Young Adult

Comparable Titles: Sarah Dessen's books, The Fault in Our Stars (BIG TIME!!!!)

For: Anyone who adored The Fault in Our Stars and still hasn't gotten over that book hangover. Also Cat (if you're reading this), you should read One ASAP.

Synopsis: Grace and Tippi. Tippi and Grace. Two sisters. Two hearts. Two dreams. Two lives. But one body.

Grace and Tippi are conjoined twins, joined at the waist, defying the odds of survival for sixteen years. They share everything, and they are everything to each other. They would never imagine being apart. For them, that would be the real tragedy.

But something is happening to them. Something they hoped would never happen. And Grace doesn’t want to admit it. Not even to Tippi.

How long can they hide from the truth—how long before they must face the most impossible choice of their lives?


Book: The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

Genre: Fantasy, Adventure, Young Adult

Comparable Titles: Gravelling, Throne of Glass, A Court of Thorns and Roses

For: If they like epic fantasies with magic and adventure with an unexpected ending (that completely destroyed me), then I don't understand why you wouldn't buy them The Orphan Queen.

Synopsis: Wilhelmina has a hundred identities.

She is a princess. When the Indigo Kingdom conquered her homeland, Wilhelmina and other orphaned children of nobility were taken to Skyvale, the Indigo Kingdom’s capital. Ten years later, they are the Ospreys, experts at stealth and theft. With them, Wilhelmina means to take back her throne.

She is a spy. Wil and her best friend, Melanie, infiltrate Skyvale Palace to study their foes. They assume the identities of nobles from a wraith-fallen kingdom, but enemies fill the palace, and Melanie’s behavior grows suspicious. With Osprey missions becoming increasingly dangerous and their leader more unstable, Wil can’t trust anyone.

She is a threat. Wraith is the toxic by-product of magic, and for a century using magic has been forbidden. Still the wraith pours across the continent, reshaping the land and animals into fresh horrors. Soon it will reach the Indigo Kingdom. Wilhelmina’s magic might be the key to stopping the wraith, but if the vigilante Black Knife discovers Wil’s magic, she will vanish like all the others.

Jodi Meadows introduces a vivid new fantasy full of intrigue, romance, dangerous magic, and one girl’s battle to reclaim her place in the world.


There may be a part two to this if I think of other books that would make great gifts.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for joining the conversation! We love knowing your opinions and thoughts on the matter!