Review of The Heir and The Spare

Thursday, 11 February 2016
Did someone say they still want a sequel to The Royal We? (Besides me.)

Book: The Heir and the Spare

Author: Emily Ablight

Publisher: Merit Press

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Summary: Family can be complicated. Especially when skeletons from the past pop up unexpectedly. For American Evie Gray, finding out her deceased mother had a secret identity, and not one of the caped crusader variety, was quite the surprise. Evie’s mom had a secret life before she was even born, one that involved tiaras.

In this modern day fairytale, Evie is on a path to figure out who her mom really was, while discovering for herself what the future will hold. Charged with her late mother’s letters, Evie embarks on a quest into her past. The first item on the list is to attend Oxford, her mom’s alma mater. There, Evie stumbles upon a real life prince charming, Edmund Stuart the second Prince of England, who is all too happy to be the counterpart to her damsel in distress.

Evie can’t resist her growing attraction to Edmund as they spend more time together trying to unravel the clues her mother left behind. But, when doubts arise as to whether or not Edmund could ever be with an untitled American, what really ends up unraveling is Evie’s heart. When Evie uncovers all the facts about her mom’s former life, she realizes her mom’s past can open doors she never dreamed possible, doors that can help her be with Edmund. But, with everything now unveiled, Evie starts to crack under the pressure of new family responsibilities and the realization that her perfect prince may want her for all the wrong reasons.

Review: This book was so cute!!! 

It's like a rom com in book form (who doesn't love those??). 

Even though the plot was totally The Royal We meets The Prince & Me meets The Princess Diaries (not that I'm complaining), it was still highly enjoyable. In fact, I had a hard time putting it down. (It even made me blush during certain parts!!!) 

I think the my main problem was the miscommunication between the protagonist Evie and the love interest Edmund who refused to talk out their problems like normal people. (Seriously, super frustrating.)

I do wish that there was more character development for the minor characters and that there was a sequel (the ending made me think there was potential for a sequel). 

On the plus side, it was fast paced and cheesy but in a good way. And Edmund was a really great character. I wouldn't mind if he gets his own spinoff series. 

Overall, The Heir and The Spare is really cute that will definitely appeal to fans of The Royal We and The Princess Diaries.







***Disclaimer: I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for review. This has in no way influenced my opinions and thoughts.

2 comments:

  1. This book sounds cute, but I have to admit...you totally got my hopes up! From the first line of your review mentioning a sequel to The Royal We, I got super excited thinking this was a sequel. :P I thought maybe it was Freddie's story. haha

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sorry!!! (Seriously though, can there PLEASE be a sequel to The Royal We??? I need it ASAP too!!!)

      Delete

Thanks for joining the conversation! We love knowing your opinions and thoughts on the matter!